About the Mayor

About the Mayor

The Mayor is the Civic Head of the Council. In May of each year, one of the Councillors is elected to serve as Mayor for one year and another elected as a Deputy. The Mayor chairs meetings of the Full Council and represents the city at ceremonial occasions. The Mayor also welcomes international visitors and attends events organised by local people.

The Mayor for 2018/2019 is Councillor Jabba Riaz

Jabba Riaz
Jabba Riaz

Jabba Riaz grew up in Worcester, living in the Ronkswood, Stanley Road and Wylds Lane areas of the city.  He attended Perry Wood and Stanley Road primary schools, Nunnery Wood High School and King’s School, before studying for a degree in business in Leicester.

Jabba has been self employed in the past, at one point taking over the running of the post office on Worcester’s London Road to save it from closure. He is now employed by Air Products – a local company which supplies a wide range of cryogenic and specialist gases to clients in the science, leisure and industrial sectors.

Jabba is married, and has three children.  He is an active member of his local community, playing and coaching cricket in his spare time.

Jabba’s nominated charities during his mayoral year will be:-

  • St. Richard’s Hospice – a local charity which supports patients with life-limiting illnesses, and their loved ones
  • Worcester Community Trust – which runs six community centres across the city, offering a wide range of activities particularly for young and older residents
  • Worcester Live – the main arts provider for the city which runs the Swan Theatre, Huntington Hall, Henry Sandon Hall and also the annual Worcester Festival.

Councillor Allah Ditta is Deputy Mayor for 2018/19

Allah Ditta

Past Mayors of Worcester Since 1999

2017/2018 – Steve Mackay

Mayor 2017-18 Cllr Steve Mackay

2016/2017 – Paul Denham

16051801 May 18th 2016 Worcester
New Mayor of Worcester 2016

2015/2016 – Roger Knight

Mayor of Worcester 2015/16 Cllr Roger Knight


2014/2015 – Alan Amos

Councillor Alan Amos

2013/2014 – Pat Agar


2012/2013 – Roger Berry

This is Councillor Roger Berry's last week as Mayor of Worcester


2011 – 2012 – Dr David Tibbutt

2010 – 2011 – Mike Layland

Mike Layland


2009 – 2010 – Andy Roberts

Andy Roberts


2008 – 2009 – Lucy Hodgson

Lucy Hodgson


2007 – 2008 – Stephen Inman

Stephen Inman


2006 – 2007 – Ian Imray

Ian Imray


2005 – 2006 – Aubrey Tarbuck

Aubrey Tarbuck


2004 – 2005 – Allah Ditta

Allah Ditta


2003 – 2004 – Gareth Jones

Gereth Jones


2002 – 2003 – Robert Rowden

Robert Rowden

2001 – 2002 – David Clark

(No photo)

2000 – 2001 – Mary Drinkwater

(No photo)

1999 – 2000 Josephine Hodges

(No photo)

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *